10 Comments

I am not perfect.

MMM. Cake.

I have a secret to share.

I am not perfect.

I have some bellyflab. Still.

I haven’t been able to get 50 doubleunders twice, even though I’ve been trying for a long time.

While I eat one hell of a lot cleaner and better than ever, I don’t do that perfectly, either.  I still eat artificial sweetener, I have never zoned, I find myself making that occasional trip to the soft yogurt joint, which is just an excuse to eat the sugar filled toppings, and I love to eat dates (sugar!).

I try to train consistently but you know what?  Sometimes I don’t.  Sometimes I just don’t.

In life outside of CrossFit I also exhibit this lack of perfection.  Sometimes I forget to follow up with my Real Estate clients.  What a no no!

Sometimes, although I am willing myself with every molecule of energy to be grateful for that complete pain in the ass who is driving me absolutely crazy, I do not feel grateful.

Sometimes I’m too loud.  Sometimes I’m too intense.  And sometimes, I post way too much on Facebook.

But you know what?  There is one thing I have finally learned to be perfect at.  It’s not grammar.

It’s being imperfect.

Among a zillion other things I can think of, CrossFit has taught me how to be absolutely imperfect – and still have a blessed over the top OMG I’m dying over here  great time.

Whether I ever get abs, I love every second of this journey of learning how to eat (imperfectly) clean.  I love how I feel every single day!

With no chance of seeing an article about myself published on the Mainsite, and no chance of being in front of the crowds at the Games this year, or maybe next, and whether I ever get that muscle up or 10 handstandpushups,  I love training with my heart and soul and blood and bones. And I love every second I am a part of this community.

Because I get to share, celebrate and love your achievements, your success, your struggles and your journey with mine.

I am absolutely perfect at loving every day I (and you) am able to train, every WOD I am  told to do, every weight I learn to lift and every step I can run – imperfectly.

In Real Estate, this perfection at being imperfect is actually appreciated by my clients.  Hey, you know what? I don’t know that answer.  I just don’t.  Or I forgot.  I’m not perfect.  I’m an expert at my market, but far from perfect.

In being honest rather than perfect, they love me.  They are relieved.  They breathe a deep sigh.  They feel they can trust me.  That’s all they want from a Real Estate Agent.  Trust.  Not perfection.

So right now, I am being imperfect.  I have a new listing to enter, clients to follow up with, 50 doubleunders to achieve, bills to pay, mail to send.  And I am writing a blog for Facebook.

With the biggest, happiest, loving life so much, imperfect smile splashed across my absolutely imperfect face.

Yay imperfection! 

(PS. I am not editing this post for perfection).

About Eileen Schreiber

CougiePower. Woman in her late 40s dedicated to living life beyond prescribed & inspiring others to laugh. Dedicated CrossFitter. Real Estate Agent. Not to mention Facebooker. Creator of this blog so that you have access to the opinions and wisdom of some awesome women. One day you will stare into space and say "Damn, I wish I had listened to them. They were right".

10 comments on “I am not perfect.

  1. Maybe you best post yet Eileen! Life is just too short (or too long) to ‘worry’ about being perfect. I think age provides that wisdom, and the older you get the more you enjoy your imperfect treats!

  2. I couldn’t agree more. And who the hell wants to be perfect anyway? Imperfection is what sets us apart from each other and makes us human. Love this blog post Eileen, you sure have some great insight and wisdom!! I hope you get your 50 DU’s a muscle and even handstand PU’s this year!! You got this, you can do it!! I totally believe in you!

  3. I really, really needed to read this today. I’ve been struggling with some super bad feelings about myself and my “imperfections” lately. Thanks for sharing your soul and being honest. It helps me to realize that I’m not Superwoman nor am I going to be anytime this life. I just need to be me and enjoy my journey!!

  4. What a great post . . . just a few hours before I confirm my strong suspicion that I won’t have some/all skills required for 12.3. Imperfect. Okay.

  5. Minus the real estate stuff, I think I could have written this! Thanks so much for the validation. Loved it!

  6. This poured out as I was struggling with not getting my doubleunders. Something clicked and it was like.. you know what? It’s OK! All of it is OK! Because there is so much love and joy in just being. Let’s have fun, laugh, be good people, and “eff” perfection!

  7. Stay imperfect. It’s so much more fun.

  8. Awesome post! I don’t have much time to read blogs but this was well worth it. This was PERFECT honesty! Makes me feel a little better about myself. Its nice to know :) Thank you. Stay who you are you have so much life and energy… Its kinda fun!

  9. Thanks for re-posting this a month later because I needed these words today! and probably tomorrow….and the next! Once again, and not the last time, this monster called Perfection slowly creeps up on me until I realize it has overtaken my sense of self and joy. I am constantly working out over here, even though it may not look like it physically- truly an inside job today. ;)

Comment! Discuss! Disagree!

